top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerebecca chapman

Carpe Diem


I was invited to assist on a second year set as a production assistant over two days to gain some more general experience of working in a more organised set environment.


I found myself working especially closely with the producer on this production as I am starting to feel that producing might be the route I want to go down.


I learnt a lot about the importance of time keeping on set as well as how important it is for everyone to have a good idea of what is being shot and when.


Getting to know other crew members also gave me a good insight into what different roles can include in later years on the course and how they feel about progressing with the roles.

Some of the ways I assisted on set for carpe diem included:

  • Catering - making food and drinks for cast and crew

  • Script supervising - keeping a record of the usable takes

  • Lighting - helping to block out unwanted sources of light

  • DIT- when the editor was busy I would transfer footage for him onto a computer

  • Set photographer - at times I would take stills of the crew in action for their social medias

  • Packing and unpacking equipment - at the beginning and end of the day I would help the crew to ensure all equipment was put away correctly

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page