top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerebecca chapman

Exercise 1 - Centre Framing vs Rule of Thirds (Workflow)

The main focus of these two weeks has been on exercise one which is intended to help us understand the difference between Centre framing and the rule of thirds. After only using the high-quality equipment a few times our group was initially hesitant to hire it out. However, we felt comfortable after using the cameras a second time in the focal length exercise. The task of filming with two different types of composition definitely did require our group to think about how we could change each should so that it would suit the chosen composition. I found the idea of the rule of thirds especially difficult to get my head around as it's a concept that I wasn't previously aware of.



Although I found using the rule of thirds more challenging than Centre framing, I do think that the sense of balance and order that the composition can provide does aesthetically provide pleasant results which often stop there from being too much negative space however I also feel that this composition is very difficult to define precisely and often can be very complicated.



I preferred using Centre framing as I was more familiar with the concept and stylistically made more sense to me than the use of the rule of thirds. However, I would also argue that the atmosphere created by Centre framing is often limited as a result of the visual repetition which may feel unsettling or even uninteresting to the viewer.



Crit Feedback


Our feedback gave us many interesting points to consider about our creations. One response to the clips that I was not expecting was the audience response which was significantly more humorous than I expected. I feel that the humorous aspects of the film come from the longer shot durations which we used to ensure the piece was long enough as well as the surrealist feel to the acting. However, I felt that the humorous aspects work for this piece especially for the Centre Framing piece. If I were to improve this piece, I would consider making adjustments to the narrative to give it a more realist tone.

1 view0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page