top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerebecca chapman

Weeks 1 - 3 (Film Degree)


Coursework


Communication and Practice


Over the first three weeks, I have found this lecture to be the most challenging of all the lectures I am partaking in as I have always struggled with reading due to slow processing. However, persevering in the required reading has encouraged me to challenge myself whilst also beginning to teach me a more complex level of communication. Learning how the structure of an essay or even just a sentence can be manipulated to have the greatest effect on its reader has been interesting and I can see how this module will be important in the film industry as communicating, whether that be verbally or through the written word is an essential skill in any form of work. One book I have found particularly interesting so far is ‘Writing About Movies’ Karen Gocsik (2016). After studying film from an analytical standpoint I thought that I had an in-depth understanding of the appropriate style for writing a film analysis however, reading the book has raised many points such as the importance of the style in forming a good relationship between the reader and the writer as well as the way that content should be structured. Over the next few weeks, I will be aiming to improve my ability to consolidate information as part of the first assignment which is a useful skill when it comes to making notes.


Film Narrative


Our first film narrative lecture focused on the concept of tableau in film and how the use of composition, lighting, characterization, and depth of field in a single shot could be used to convey an important meaning. Directors such as Chantel Akerman, Wes Anderson, and Peter Greenaway are known for their use of Tableau often throughout their films which use long takes frequently to focus on a specific image. I feel that the concept is very important in the film as it takes into account the importance of mise en scene and how the formation of objects in a shot can be so important in conveying the narrative to an extent where you could pause the film on a frame and still understand a large proportion of a scene. We also took part in a screenwriting workshop where we were required to read the whiplash screenplay and discuss its structure and features of it with peers. I had not previously read a screenplay before this assignment therefore it was very interesting for me to see the way that they are structured as I found the writing to be very concise whilst also animated to a point where I felt I could very clearly visualize the scenes. One point I found very interesting in the discussion was the way that we all felt bringing the script to life would be challenging however after seeing the film feeling that the script has so much potential.


Workflow and Creative Camera Techniques


The first few camera workshops ran through information about the basics of camera angles, shot types, and use of depth of field which I was already familiar with however they also covered the basic camera settings and what they meant which I found very interesting as I have been using these settings on my DSLR for years without understanding their meanings such as ISO, aperture, and shutter speed. I feel that these details are essential for knowledge of using a cinema camera. It was also very engaging to understand how cinematic cameras are usually set up as the different components including the Black Box, lens, focus puller, and camera body are separate pieces of equipment that I originally thought formed one piece of equipment. The editing workshops were the most exciting for me as this is the area of film that I hope to go into therefore learning from an industry professional how he uses different transitions and rhythms to convey meaning in different situations was fascinating to me. Furthermore, our introduction to Avid also taught me a lot of information that I wasn’t already familiar with such as the way that clapper boards are used for the syncing process in postproduction. I would therefore say that the practical workshops were most enjoyable for me as I am a more physical than the analytical learner, finding demonstrations far easier to understand than lectures.


 

3 Weekly Films


Everything, Everywhere, All At Once (2022)

I had been intending to see this film for months and finally got round to watching it at the Omni centre with some coursemates. I can understand thoroughly how this film had so much success after feeling that the film, unlike most other mainstream films being released currently, had a very original cinematic experience, combining action, comedy, and drama with a crisp editing style and often surreal mise en scene. I felt that the film commented on our human will to feel important as though we’ve made a difference in the world however using an unconventional narrative that captured the hundreds of potential lives that we could have lived. The way that comedy and drama are conveyed within the narrative allows an enjoyable experience with gags such as simple as two rocks communicating using subtitles.


American Psycho - Mary Harron (2000)

This was a rewatch that was inspired by coming across the iconic ‘Hey Paul’ murder scene. I had forgotten how the film used a fast-paced style assisted by an often contrapuntal soundtrack in order to convey the unsettled mind of Patrick Bateman. Furthermore, although I’m not usually a fan of voiceovers, I did feel that Patrick Batemans psychopathic yet often comedic commentaries within the scenes strongly assisted the development of his character as a protagonist. Another notable technique used in the film was the iconic montage which quickly and effectively displays Batemans need for order and routine in a way that did not come across as cliché. However, I would argue that the narrative conclusion within the film, although intriguing, was unclear as I was struggling to understand whether the events that had occurred were a dream or if they were being covered up and after discussing this with others I was between contrasting opinions.



Don't Worry Darling - Olivia Wilde (2022)


I came into this film with low expectations after hearing mixed opinions. Although I felt that the plot was unoriginal and slightly disappointing the style of the film and narrative construction were climactic and I felt was very engaging. Furthermore, the social commentary of the film was also highly impressive as it focused on the conventional gender norms and how current societal roles may feel uncomfortable to someone with a traditionalist mindset.





6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page